breads clumb

  1. TOP
  2. About the Shinkansen
  3. Outline

About the Shinkansen

Outline  History and Overview of the Tokaido Shinkansen



The Tokaido Shinkansen, which began commercial operation in October 1964, travels between Tokyo and Shin-Osaka at a maximum speed of 270km/h in as short as two hours and 25 minutes.
There are currently three types of Tokaido Shinkansen services, the Nozomi, Hikari, and the Kodama (the stations at which these three services stop differ), and JR Central operates two types of rolling stock which it has developed; the Series 700 and the Series N700.
All of these Shinkansen represent Japan and passengers on the Tokaido Shinkansen can enjoy gazing at Japan's unique and beautiful scenery, such as Mt. Fuji and Kyoto, from its windows.

  • Inauguration Ceremony
    Inauguration Ceremony
  • The Series N700
    The Series N700


Operation Section Tokyo~Shin-Osaka (552.6km)
Number of Stations 17
Maximum Speed 270km/h
Number of Services 323 per day (as of March 2012)
Annual Number of
Approx. 143 million (as of March 2012)
Number of Cars
in a Trainset
Passenger Capacity 1,323 people
Facilities All lines are double tracked and electrified (AC25,000V; 60Hz)

Operation Section
Operation Section


Adobe Reader download
In order to view PDF files, you must have the Adobe® Reader™ plug-in offered free of charge from Adobe Systems, Inc.

Go to top of the page